Essential Titles for Women's History Month

Each March, we celebrate the contributions of women during national Women's History Month.

Enjoy this undefinable collection of adult fiction and nonfiction, self help, and young adult titles -- along with picture books for the littlest women -- that features historical women, fictional women, inspiring women, and not-so-good women!


 

The Fire of Stars: The Life and Brilliance of the Woman Who Discovered What Stars Are Made Of By Kirsten W. Larson, Katherine Roy (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kirsten W. Larson, Katherine Roy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781452172873
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - February 7th, 2023

A 2023 Good Housekeeping Kids Book Award Winner 

A Science Friday 2023 Best Book Pick

A Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Book of 2023 

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2023 

2024 NCTE Orbis Pictus Honor Book

Four Starred Reviews! 

A poetic picture book celebrating the l


The Exceptions: Nancy Hopkins and the Fight for Women in Science By Kate Zernike Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781982131845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - February 27th, 2024

A New York Times Notable Book

As late as 1999, women who succeeded in science were called “exceptional” as if it were unusual for them to be so bright.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Tower: A Novel By Flora Carr Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385550185
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday - March 5th, 2024

A bold, feminist debut novel, reimagining Mary, Queen of Scots’s darkest hour, when she was held hostage in a remote Scottish castle with a handful of loyal women while plotting a daring escape to reclaim her country and her freedom.


Staff Pick Badge
Lone Women: A Novel By Victor LaValle Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525512103
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: One World - February 6th, 2024

Well crafted gem of a historical horror novel! LaValle creates a vibrant sense of time and place.

Highly Recommended by Kristine


Murder by Degrees: A Mystery By Ritu Mukerji Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668015063
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 17th, 2023

An Edgar Award Finalist for Best First Novel

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd, Murder by Degrees is a historical mystery set in 19th-century Philadelphia, following a pioneering woman doctor as she investigates the disappearance of a young patient who is presumed dead.

Philadelphia, 1875: It is the start of term at Woman’s Medical College


A Rome of One's Own: The Forgotten Women of the Roman Empire By Emma Southon Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781419760181
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Abrams Press - November 7th, 2023

From the acclaimed author of A Fatal Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, a wildly entertaining new history of Rome that uses the lives of 21 women to upend our understanding of the ancient world

The history of Rome has long been narrow and one-sided, essentially a history of “the Doing of Important Things.” And as far as Roman historians have been concerne


Wild and Distant Seas: A Novel By Tara Karr Roberts Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781324064886
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 2nd, 2024

A gorgeous debut, laced through with magic, following four generations of women as they seek to chart their own futures.


Diva: A Novel By Daisy Goodwin Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781250279927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 23rd, 2024

New York Times bestselling author Daisy Goodwin returns with a story of the scandalous love affair between the most celebrated opera singer of all time and one of the richest men in the world.


The House of Eve By Sadeqa Johnson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982197377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: 37 Ink - February 6th, 2024

“Amazing…I was completely surprised by the ending of this beautifully told and written book.” —Reese Witherspoon

“A triumph of historical fiction” (The Washington Post), an instant New York Times bestseller, and a Reese’s Book Club pick, set in 1950s Philadelphia and Washington, DC, that explores what it means to be a woman


The Uncharted Flight of Olivia West By Sara Ackerman Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780778369516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Mira Books - February 6th, 2024

An exciting page-turner about a fearless female aviator competing in a death-defying race across the Pacific. Brilliantly told... My favorite read this year " --Andie Newton, USA TODAY bestselling author of A Child for the Reich


Pre-Order Now Badge
Comet Chaser: The True Cinderella Story of Caroline Herschel, the First Professional Woman Astronomer By Pamela S. Turner, Vivien Mildenberger (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781452145433
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chronicle Books - March 5th, 2024

The real-life Cinderella story of the very first professional woman astronomer—Caroline Herschel!

Comet Chaser is the thrilling and beautifully illustrated biography of a woman who made a lifetime of incredible contributions to science.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Women Money Power: The Rise and Fall of Economic Equality By Josie Cox Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781419762987
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Abrams Press - March 5th, 2024

From an experienced financial journalist, Women Money Power is the story of how women have fought for financial freedom, and the social and political hurdles that have kept them from equality.
 
For centuries, women were denied equal access to money and the freedom and power that came with it. They were restricted from owning property or transacting in real estate.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Mother Doll: A Novel By Katya Apekina Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781419770951
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: The Overlook Press - March 12th, 2024

* A Most Anticipated Book of 2024 Selected By * The Millions * Chicago Review of Books * Hey Alma * Stylecaster * And Many More!


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Underground Library: A Novel By Jennifer Ryan Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593500385
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 12th, 2024

When the Blitz imperils the heart of a London neighborhood, three young women must use their fighting spirit to save the community’s beloved library in this novel based on true events from the author of The Chilbury Ladies Choir.


Staff Pick Badge
The Women: A Novel By Kristin Hannah Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781250178633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 6th, 2024

A #1 bestseller on The New York Times, USA Today, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times!

From the celebrated author of The Nightingale and The Four Winds comes Kristin Hannah's The Women—at once an intimate portrait of coming of age in a dangerous time and an epic tale of a nation divided.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Becoming Madam Secretary By Stephanie Dray Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593437056
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Berkley - March 12th, 2024

She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

New York Times
bestselling author Stephanie Dray returns with a captivating and dramatic new novel about an American heroine Frances Perkins.