Staff Picks

Staff Picks

The Magnolia Palace: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593184011
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - January 25th, 2022

 A highly entertaining, exciting read that make you want to teleport to the Frick ASAP and imagine all the history and drama that actually happened there.

Recommended by Kimi


How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063072640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: William Morrow - January 18th, 2022

I think I've already found my favorite release for 2022! This dystopian multi perspective scifi book is expertly woven. We jump through time and from character to character experiencing a terrifying pandemic and end of days. Though reading about a pandemic in midst of pandemic seems daunting, Nagamatsu managed to create a heartfelt and intriguing saga that elicits all of your emotions in a short 256 pages.

Recommended by Kimi


The Paris Bookseller Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593102183
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Berkley - January 11th, 2022

This is a must read for all book lovers and especially for those who enjoy historical fiction. Kerri Maher has created an enchanting novel based on Silvia Beach and the Shakespeare and Company bookstore in the 1920's. Be prepared to be transported in time with our beloved authors and artists of that time period.

Recommended by Susan


Wahala: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063084247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Custom House - January 11th, 2022

Sex in the City, but with much-needed new characters! Three Anglo-Nigerian best friends, each with their own struggles, navigate life together, until trouble (wahala) comes when a fourth "friend" enters the mix.

Recommended by Laurie


Staff Pick Badge
To Paradise: A Novel Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780385547932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Doubleday - January 11th, 2022

A highly addictive read, this book is not for the faint of heart but you will be rewarded in the end.

Recommended by Kimi


Staff Pick Badge
No Land to Light On: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982187422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Atria Books - January 4th, 2022

This book swept me away from the first few words! It was a gorgeously written and engaging story about young love and disappointment set against the terrorizing first days of the Muslim Travel Ban. Each sentence packs a punch and Zgheib proves you don't need 800 pages to write a masterpiece. Perfect for fans of Tayari Jones and Hala Alyan, this book is filled with rich characters who keep fighting against whatever the world throws at them.

Highly recommended by Kimi


Staff Pick Badge
Small Things Like These Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802158741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Grove Press - November 30th, 2021

This beautifully written novella was a joy to read. A true Christmas story for the season.

Highly Recommended by Mary Kay


Staff Pick Badge
These Precious Days: Essays Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063092785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Harper - November 23rd, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this collection of essays by the brilliant Ann Patchett. Friendship, marriage, knitting, writing, life, death, and much more, the essays are a beautifully written window into Patchett's life and the lessons it has taught her.

Recommended by Laurie


Staff Pick Badge
The Dangers of an Ordinary Night: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643858654
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Crooked Lane Books - November 9th, 2021

A taut, suspenseful novel that traces the cause of death of a 17 year old student on a secluded beach in Scituate, MA. The question is … accident or foul-play? Reeves story is infused with complex characters against the backdrop of a Performing Arts High School in Boston. Her story is sprinkled with interesting tidbits about theater life as well as a plethora of salutes to notable productions. 

Recommended by Totsie


The Sentence Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062671127
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Harper - November 9th, 2021

Tookie, the protagonist, is a brilliant character. I love her life and her loves, her insecurities and her worries. And the book store vibe was spot on! Erdrich is a brilliant writer and the facts she blended with the fiction are appreciated and much needed by readers.

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Five Tuesdays in Winter Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802158765
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Grove Press - November 9th, 2021

One of our favorites is back with a collection of short stories!

Recommended by Laurie