Staff Picks

Staff Picks

All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

Great read about family relationships in small town America in the 21st century.

Recommended by Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Longings: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525429760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Viking - April 21st, 2020

I loved this book of historical fiction which tells the story of Ana, the wife of Jesus and sister of Judas. While there is certainly plenty of details of Jesus' life and work, the main focus is on the strong and intelligent Ana. For anyone who enjoyed "The Red Tent" this is for you.

- recommended by Mary Kay
 


Staff Pick Badge
Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780385543767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Doubleday - April 7th, 2020

A compelling read that I will not forget. Kolher weaves a story that evokes empathy and much needed understanding about mental illness and the effects on a family. The integration of learning about the science and the mental health system is insightful. Readers who enjoyed The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Educated will devour this book.

Recommended by Kathy


Staff Pick Badge
Sin Eater: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982124106
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Atria Books - April 7th, 2020

Had a lot of fun with this one. A great Elizabethan world with a host of Chaucer-esq characters. This is a dark and gritty mystery filled with fascinating food references.

                                   Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
The Benefit of Hindsight: A Simon Serrailler Case Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781419743580
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: The Overlook Press - April 7th, 2020

Susan Hill's latest mystery with a recovered Simon Serrailler back in form as a chief inspector delights us as we are make aware of the inner demons that challenge him as he confronts the latest crimes. His extended family continues in their supporting roles, and the two plots are impelling. A great read.

Recommended by Sarah


Pre-Order Now Badge
Florence Adler Swims Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781982132460
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 7th, 2020

A moving story about the lengths family members will go to to protect their own when tragedy occurs. Loved it!                                                                             Recommended by: Laurie


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Only Good Indians Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982136451
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 14th, 2020

"I loved this book. Jones has a unique narrative voice, allowing the entity to step in and take over unexpectedly. This amps up the horror. Also, each character has a distinct voice which brings them to life. Jones combines the culture and traditions of the Blackfeet and Crow people with the social truths of their contemporary life. It is refreshingly different from any other horror I've read. This book is gruesome and honestly scary. Couldn't put it down."

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Valentine: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Harper - March 31st, 2020

 

"Truly an unforgettable read with characters that came alive on every page. Heartbreaking and painful to read but also a story of resilience and survival. I haven't read a novel of this weight since A Little Life."

Recommended by Kathy