Staff Picks

Staff Picks

Staff Pick Logo
Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778307860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Park Row - October 16th, 2018

"Evergreen Tidings is an outright funny book that will leave you laughing out loud at the antics of a housewife in Minneapolis who is trying to maintain an image of respectability as society changes around her. She puts a positive spin on every aspect of her family's lives, and eventually accepts that though family roles may have changed, love will keep them together." --Susan


Sing a Song of Seasons: A Nature Poem for Each Day of the Year Cover Image
By Nosy Crow, Frann Preston-Gannon (Illustrator), Fiona Waters (Editor)
$40.00
ISBN: 9781536202472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Nosy Crow - October 9th, 2018

"A gorgeous, lushly illustrated poetry book with poems from authors including Shakespeare, Emily Dickinson, Langston Hughes, and others both well known and new. The illustrations and poems pair wonderfully with each other for a Perfect as a read aloud ritual to either start or end your day. "

--Gwendolyn


Staff Pick Logo
Transcription: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316176637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 25th, 2018

"I am a big Kate Atkinson fan and this book fulfilled my every wish. A great World War II story with unusual characters. The mystery holds throughout." --Sarah


The Dinner List: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250295187
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Flatiron Books - September 11th, 2018

“I have five words for Rebecca Serle’s The Dinner List: wistful, delicious, romantic, magical, love.”
—Gabrielle Zevin, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and Young Jane Young


Staff Pick Logo
Vox Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780440000785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Berkley - August 21st, 2018

"This is a powerful modern day novel in the vein of Margaret Atwood's Handmaid's Tale. With its focus on voice and speech and the use of linguistics throughout, Vox makes every word radical. Deeply thought provoking and timely, Dalcher's novel is sure to become a classic. " --Gwendolyn


Staff Pick Logo
Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


Staff Pick Logo
Spinning Silver: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399180989
Availability: Backordered
Published: Del Rey - July 10th, 2018

"In Spinning Silver, Naomi Novik has a beautiful recreation of a story that at its core holds Rumplestiltskin, but with its many voices from different classes and walks of life, contains something new. The magic in this story is beautifully done and adeptly walks the line of belief. This book is sure to delight fans of Katherine Arden and continues wonderfully on the ideas brought forward by Uprooted. It has one of the most satisfying endings I've read in a while, adeptly bringing together the competing desires of the characters, all of whom you as reader are hoping will achieve their goals."

Recommended by: Gwendolyn


Staff Pick Logo
The Perfect Mother: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062696793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Harper - May 1st, 2018

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AND MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE SUMMER—SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING SCANDAL’S KERRY WASHINGTON

An addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing.


Staff Pick Logo
CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

"This book is absolutely stunning! Miller builds off the myth of the Ancient Greek witch, Circe, and creates a beautiful portrait of love and family. Great for fans of Song of Achilles, mythology, or anyone looking for great female-led novels."

Recommended by: Alex


Staff Pick Logo
Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

#1 NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • O: The Oprah Magazine • Time • NPR • F