Staff Picks

Staff Picks

A World of Curiosities: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel #18) By Louise Penny Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250145291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Minotaur Books - November 29th, 2022

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache returns in the eighteenth book in #1 New York Times bestseller Louise Penny's beloved series.

It’s spring and Three Pines is reemerging after the harsh winter. But not everything buried should come alive again. Not everything lying dormant should reemerge.

But something has.


Tread of Angels By Rebecca Roanhorse Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781982166182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - November 15th, 2022

So ridiculously satisfying. Roanhorse has created a superb mashup of a Western and a Victorian murder mystery. Lots of religious allegory, some romance, prejudices, and family trauma. 

Recommended by Kristine


Dark Rivers to Cross: A Novel By Lynne Reeves Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639101214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Crooked Lane Books - November 8th, 2022

This was an engaging thriller set in Boston and in rural Maine. Reeves does a terrific job creating a mysterious family story that builds suspense with each chapter. A good mix of characters that glue this story together amongst the horrors of domestic abuse.

Recommended by Kathy


Staff Pick Badge
Foster By Claire Keegan Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802160140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Grove Press - November 1st, 2022

Keegan uses simple prose and realistic dialog to create this wonderful, moving, kind of upsetting portrait of what it means to be a family.

Recommended by Kristine

 


The Rewind By Allison Winn Scotch Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593546536
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - November 1st, 2022

Recommended by Laurie


Staff Pick Badge
Forever Home: How We Turned Our House into a Haven for Abandoned, Abused, and Misunderstood Dogs—and Each Other By Ron Danta, Danny Robertshaw, Larry Lindner Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063112872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: HarperOne - October 25th, 2022


"Being a person that always adopts rescue dogs, I couldn’t believe the amount of animals that they took care of, usually ones that needed a lot of help medically or emotionally. They turned their whole house over to crates and beds and places for these animals to sleep and showered them with love and affection. It was the most amazing and heartwarming story."

Recommended by Michelle


Staff Pick Badge
Demon Copperhead: A Novel By Barbara Kingsolver Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780063251922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Harper - October 18th, 2022

Truly an American saga. The coming-of-age story of a kid in rural Appalachia, it is both breathtaking and heart-breaking. This novel tackles the opioid epidemic head-on.

Recommended by Kristine


The Whalebone Theatre: A novel By Joanna Quinn Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593321706
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Knopf - October 4th, 2022

I swore off reading WWII books for awhile but am glad I let this one lure me back in. It is a wonderful, grand story of three siblings and their lives from childhood on the English coast through their various roles during the war. Beautiful writing gives life to not only the siblings but every character in the book. 

Highly recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Our Missing Hearts: A Novel By Celeste Ng Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593492543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Penguin Press - October 4th, 2022

Ng's newest novel is a powerful story of love, loss, and the legacy we leave behind. After suffering through a crippling economic crisis, the country adopts a severe policy penalizing anyone not deemed "patriotic" enough. This leads to hate and violence aimed at the AAPI community. Most terrifyingly, by separating children from parents. Ng paints a frightening world that given the current climate, does not seem that far out there. Ng handles this heavy subject with the skill and beauty that leaves the reader hopeful at the end.

Recommended by Mary Kay


Staff Pick Badge
Hester: A Novel By Laurie Lico Albanese Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250278555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 4th, 2022

The "what-if" story of the real Hester Prynne of Nathaniel Hawthorne's Scarlet Letter. I love a literary speculative history and this one fits the bill. A nicely woven tale of love ad betrayal. Perfect for fans of New England history.

Recommended by Kristine
 


Lucy by the Sea: A Novel By Elizabeth Strout Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593446065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House - September 20th, 2022

Recommended by Laurie


Staff Pick Badge
The Bullet That Missed: A Thursday Murder Club Mystery By Richard Osman Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593299395
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - September 20th, 2022

Another fun little mystery with the gang!

Recommended by Anna