Most Anticipated Books of 2024

A new year means new books! The staff at Buttonwood Books and Toys are eagerly awaiting these upcoming titles. Pre-order yours today!

Pre-Order Now Badge
Wandering Stars: A novel By Tommy Orange Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593318256
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - February 27th, 2024

A TIME MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK • The Pulitzer Prize-finalist and author of the breakout bestseller There There ("Pure soaring beauty."The New York Times Book Review) delivers a masterful follow-up to his already classic first novel.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Other Valley: A Novel By Scott Alexander Howard Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668015476
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atria Books - February 27th, 2024

A Goodreads Most Anticipated Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Horror Book of 2024

For fans of Never Let Me Go and The Giver, an elegant and exhilarating literary speculative novel about an isolated town neighbored by its own past and future, and a young girl who spots two elderly visitors from across the border: the grieving parents of the boy she loves.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Hobbit: A Graphic Novel By J. R. R. Tolkien Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780063388468
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 27th, 2024

A graphic novel of J.R.R. Tolkien's enchanting prequel to The Lord of the Rings.

When Thorin Oakenshield and his band of dwarves embark upon a dangerous quest to reclaim the hoard of gold stolen from them by the evil dragon Smaug, Gandalf the wizard suggests an unlikely accomplice: Bilbo Baggins, an unassuming Hobbit dwelling in peaceful Hobbiton.


Pre-Order Now Badge
After Annie: A Novel By Anna Quindlen Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593229804
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House - February 27th, 2024

Loved this poignant tale of a life well-lived. One seemingly normal woman effected the lives of so many around her.

Recommended by Laurie


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Hunter: A Novel By Tana French Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593493434
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking - March 5th, 2024

"Hailed as the queen of Irish crime fiction, French spins a taut tale of retribution, sacrifice, and family."—TIME

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Searcher and “one of the greatest crime novelists writing today” (Vox), a spellbinding new novel set in the Irish countryside.


Pre-Order Now Badge
House of Open Wounds (The Tyrant Philosophers) By Adrian Tchaikovsky Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781035901388
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Head of Zeus -- an AdAstra Book - March 5th, 2024

FROM THE BSFA AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR OF CITY OF LAST CHANCES


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Summer We Crossed Europe in the Rain: Lyrics for Stacey Kent By Kazuo Ishiguro, Bianca Bagnarelli (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kazuo Ishiguro, Bianca Bagnarelli (Illustrator)
$22.00
ISBN: 9780593802519
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - March 5th, 2024

From the Nobel Prize–winning author of Klara and the Sun and Never Let Me Go comes a gorgeously illustrated volume of lyrics written for the platinum-selling, Grammy-nominated jazz singer Stacey Kent.


Pre-Order Now Badge
James: A Novel By Percival Everett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385550369
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday - March 19th, 2024

NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR BY TIME, NPR, THE SEATTLE TIMES, ELLE, THE ATLANTA JOURNAL-CONSTITUTION, AND OPRAH DAILY


Pre-Order Now Badge
Secrets of the Octopus By Sy Montgomery Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781426223723
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: National Geographic - March 19th, 2024

Remarkable new discoveries affirm the octopus as one of nature’s most intelligent and complex animals.

This new book—written by the beloved author of the international bestseller The Soul of an Octopus and enhanced with vivid National Geographic photography—brings us closer than ever to these elusive creatures.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Divorcées: A Novel By Rowan Beaird Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250896582
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Flatiron Books - March 19th, 2024

A "delicious" (Rebecca Makkai) and "deeply compelling" (Lauren Groff) debut novel set at a 1950s Reno "divorce ranch," about the complex friendship between two women who dare to imagine a different future


Pre-Order Now Badge
Table for Two: Fictions By Amor Towles Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593296370
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking - April 2nd, 2024

From the bestselling author of The Lincoln Highway, A Gentleman in Moscow, and Rules of Civility, a richly detailed and sharply drawn collection of stories, including a novella featuring one of his most beloved characters
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Familiar: A Novel By Leigh Bardugo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250884251
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 9th, 2024

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2024 by The Washington Post, NPR, Goodreads, LitHub, The Nerd Daily, Paste Magazine, Today.com, and so much more!


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Great Abolitionist: Charles Sumner and the Fight for a More Perfect Union By Stephen Puleo Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781250276278
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - April 23rd, 2024

The groundbreaking biography of a forgotten civil rights hero.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War By Erik Larson Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780385348744
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Crown - April 30th, 2024

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Splendid and the Vile brings to life the pivotal five months between the election of Abraham Lincoln and the start of the Civil War—a simmering crisis that finally tore a deeply divided nation in two.

One of Time’s Most Anticipated Books of the Year


Pre-Order Now Badge
Lift: The Rise of Mathe-Lingua-Musica By Ray Anderson Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781684429677
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Keylight Books - May 7th, 2024

With Earth on the brink of total annihilation, can a new universal language unite the world enough to save it?


Pre-Order Now Badge
Left for Dead: Shipwreck, Treachery, and Survival at the Edge of the World By Eric Jay Dolin Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781324093084
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Liveright - May 7th, 2024

The true story of five castaways abandoned on the Falkland Islands during the War of 1812—a tale of treachery, shipwreck, isolation, and the desperate struggle for survival.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lion Women of Tehran By Marjan Kamali Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668036587
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery Books - July 2nd, 2024

From the nationally bestselling author of the “powerful, heartbreaking” (Shelf Awareness) The Stationery Shop, a heartfelt, epic new novel of friendship, betrayal, and redemption set against three transformative decades in Tehran, Iran.

In 1950s Tehran, seven-year-old Ellie lives in grand comfort until the untimely death of her father, forcing Ellie and her


Pre-Order Now Badge
Whale Fall: A Novel By Elizabeth O'Connor Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593700914
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Pantheon - May 7th, 2024

A stunning debut from an award-winning writer, about loss, isolation, folklore, and the joy and dissonance of finding oneself by exploring life outside one’s community


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Stolen Child: A Novel By Ann Hood Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780393609806
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 7th, 2024

An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate in this moving, page-turning novel from “a gifted storyteller” (People).


Pre-Order Now Badge
Last House: A Novel By Jessica Shattuck Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780062979896
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - May 14th, 2024

"An ambitious historical epic that doubles as an intimate family saga. Jessica Shattuck captures and connects it all—the imperial ambitions of the postwar generation, the rebellion of their offspring in the Sixties, and the fallout we’re still sifting through today. . . . This is a wide-ranging novel to savor.” — TOM PERROTTA


Pre-Order Now Badge
Fire Exit: A Novel By Morgan Talty Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781959030553
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2024

“Utterly consuming. . . . Fire Exit absolutely smolders.”—Tommy Orange


Pre-Order Now Badge
Swan Song By Elin Hilderbrand Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316258876
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 11th, 2024

The beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author brings her Nantucket novels to a brilliant finish: when rich strangers move to the island, social mayhem and a possible murder follow. Can Nantucket’s best locals save the day, and their way of life?

Chief of Police Ed Kapenash is about to retire. Blond Sharon is going through a divorce.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Cliffs: A novel By J. Courtney Sullivan Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593319154
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - July 16th, 2024

A novel of family, secrets, ghosts, and homecoming set on the seaside cliffs of Maine, by the New York Times best-selling author of Friends and Strangers

“A stunning achievement, and J. Courtney Sullivan’s best book yet. Sullivan weaves a narrative that’s fascinating and thought-provoking. I literally could not put this book down.”


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Midnight Feast: A Novel By Lucy Foley Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063003101
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - June 18th, 2024

The deliciously twisty new locked room murder mystery from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Guest List and The Paris Apartment

Welcome to the opening weekend of The Manor

A luxury resort built on top of old secrets in an ancient wood

THE FOUNDER

THE HUSBAND

THE MYSTERY GUEST

THE KITCHEN HELP


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Wedding People: A Novel By Alison Espach Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250899576
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 30th, 2024

A propulsive and uncommonly wise novel about one unexpected wedding guest and the surprising people who help us start anew.