Most Anticipated Books of 2024

A new year means new books! The staff at Buttonwood Books and Toys are eagerly awaiting these upcoming titles. Pre-order yours today!

Wandering Stars: A novel By Tommy Orange Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593318256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Knopf - February 27th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The Pulitzer Prize-finalist and author of the breakout bestseller There There ("Pure soaring beauty."The New York Times Book Review) delivers a masterful follow-up to his already classic first novel.


The Other Valley: A Novel By Scott Alexander Howard Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668015476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Atria Books - February 27th, 2024

*Soon to be a TV series*

A Goodreads Most Anticipated Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Horror Book of 2024
Jimmy Fallon’s Book Club Top Four Pick

For fans of Never Let Me Go and The Giver, an elegant and exhilarating literary speculative novel about an isolated town neighbored by its own past and future, and a young girl who spots two el


The Hobbit: A Graphic Novel By J. R. R. Tolkien, David Wenzel (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J. R. R. Tolkien, David Wenzel (Illustrator)
$23.00
ISBN: 9780063388468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 27th, 2024

A graphic novel of J.R.R. Tolkien's enchanting prequel to The Lord of the Rings.

When Thorin Oakenshield and his band of dwarves embark upon a dangerous quest to reclaim the hoard of gold stolen from them by the evil dragon Smaug, Gandalf the wizard suggests an unlikely accomplice: Bilbo Baggins, an unassuming Hobbit dwelling in peaceful Hobbiton.


Staff Pick Badge
After Annie: A Novel By Anna Quindlen Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593229804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House - February 27th, 2024

Loved this poignant tale of a life well-lived. One seemingly normal woman effected the lives of so many around her.

Recommended by Laurie


The Hunter: A Novel By Tana French Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593493434
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Viking - March 5th, 2024

An Instant New York Times Bestseller

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2024 by the Washington Post, TIME Magazine, BBC, TODAY, Elle, CrimeReads, and more

"Hailed as the queen of Irish crime fiction, French spins a taut tale of retribution, sacrifice, and family."—TIME


House of Open Wounds (The Tyrant Philosophers) By Adrian Tchaikovsky Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781035901388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Head of Zeus -- an AdAstra Book - March 5th, 2024

FROM THE BSFA AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR OF CITY OF LAST CHANCES


The Summer We Crossed Europe in the Rain: Lyrics for Stacey Kent By Kazuo Ishiguro, Bianca Bagnarelli (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kazuo Ishiguro, Bianca Bagnarelli (Illustrator)
$22.00
ISBN: 9780593802519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Knopf - April 30th, 2024

From the Nobel Prize–winning author of Klara and the Sun and Never Let Me Go comes a gorgeously illustrated volume of lyrics written for the platinum-selling, Grammy-nominated jazz singer Stacey Kent.


Staff Pick Badge
James: A Novel By Percival Everett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385550369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Doubleday - March 19th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A brilliant, action-packed reimagining of Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, both harrowing and ferociously funny, told from the enslaved Jim's point of view • From the “literary icon” (Oprah Daily) and Pulitzer Prize Finalist whose novel Erasure is the basis for Cord Jefferson’s critically acclaimed film Americ


Secrets of the Octopus By Sy Montgomery, Warren K. Carlyle, IV Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781426223723
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: National Geographic - March 19th, 2024

Remarkable new discoveries affirm the octopus as one of nature’s most intelligent and complex animals.


The Divorcées: A Novel By Rowan Beaird Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250896582
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Flatiron Books - March 19th, 2024

“A rollicking thriller and poignant coming-of-age story.” ―People

"Timelier than ever." ―The Cut

A "delicious" (Rebecca Makkai) and "deeply compelling" (Lauren Groff) debut novel set at a 1950s Reno divorce ranch, about the complex friendship between two women who dare to imagine a different future


Table for Two: Fictions By Amor Towles Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593296370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Viking - April 2nd, 2024

New York Times Bestseller

“A knockout collection. ... Sharp-edged satire deceptively wrapped like a box of Neuhaus chocolates, Table for Two is a winner.” —The New York Times


Staff Pick Badge
The Familiar: A Novel By Leigh Bardugo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250884251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Flatiron Books - April 9th, 2024

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2024 by The Washington Post, NPR, Goodreads, LitHub, The Nerd Daily, Paste Magazine, Today.com, and so much more!


The Great Abolitionist: Charles Sumner and the Fight for a More Perfect Union By Stephen Puleo Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781250276278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - April 23rd, 2024

The groundbreaking biography of a forgotten civil rights hero.


The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War By Erik Larson Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780385348744
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Crown - April 30th, 2024

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Splendid and the Vile brings to life the pivotal five months between the election of Abraham Lincoln and the start of the Civil War—a simmering crisis that finally tore a deeply divided nation in two.


Lift: The Rise of Mathe-Lingua-Musica By Ray Anderson Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781684429677
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Keylight Books - May 7th, 2024

With Earth on the brink of total annihilation, can a new universal language unite the world enough to save it?


Left for Dead: Shipwreck, Treachery, and Survival at the Edge of the World By Eric Jay Dolin Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781324093084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Liveright - May 7th, 2024

The true story of five castaways abandoned on the Falkland Islands during the War of 1812—a tale of treachery, shipwreck, isolation, and the desperate struggle for survival.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lion Women of Tehran By Marjan Kamali Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668036587
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery Books - July 2nd, 2024

From the nationally bestselling author of the “powerful, heartbreaking” (Shelf Awareness) The Stationery Shop, a heartfelt, epic new novel of friendship, betrayal, and redemption set against three transformative decades in Tehran, Iran.

In 1950s Tehran, seven-year-old Ellie lives in grand comfort until the untimely death of her father, forcing Ellie and her


Staff Pick Badge
Whale Fall: A Novel By Elizabeth O'Connor Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593700914
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Pantheon - May 7th, 2024

A stunning debut from an award-winning writer, about loss, isolation, folklore, and the joy and dissonance of finding oneself by exploring life outside one’s community


Staff Pick Badge
The Stolen Child: A Novel By Ann Hood Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780393609806
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 7th, 2024

An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate in this moving, page-turning novel from “a gifted storyteller” (People).


Staff Pick Badge
Last House: A Novel By Jessica Shattuck Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780062979896
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: William Morrow - May 14th, 2024

"An ambitious historical epic that doubles as an intimate family saga. Jessica Shattuck captures and connects it all—the imperial ambitions of the postwar generation, the rebellion of their offspring in the Sixties, and the fallout we’re still sifting through today. . . . This is a wide-ranging novel to savor.” — TOM PERROTTA


Staff Pick Badge
Fire Exit: A Novel By Morgan Talty Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781959030553
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2024

“Utterly consuming. . . . Fire Exit absolutely smolders.”—Tommy Orange


Swan Song By Elin Hilderbrand Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316258876
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 11th, 2024

The beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author brings her Nantucket novels to a brilliant finish: when rich strangers move to the island, social mayhem and a possible murder follow. Can Nantucket’s best locals save the day, and their way of life?

Chief of Police Ed Kapenash is about to retire. Blond Sharon is going through a divorce.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Cliffs: A novel By J. Courtney Sullivan Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593319154
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - July 16th, 2024

A novel of family, secrets, ghosts, and homecoming set on the seaside cliffs of Maine, by the New York Times best-selling author of Friends and Strangers

“A stunning achievement, and J. Courtney Sullivan’s best book yet. Sullivan weaves a narrative that’s fascinating and thought-provoking. I literally could not put this book down.”


The Midnight Feast: A Novel By Lucy Foley Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063003101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: William Morrow - June 18th, 2024

"Sharp, stylish and stunning...Foley's best yet." -- Chris Whitaker, New York Times bestselling author of We Begin at the End

"Everything you want in a thriller." -- Harper's Bazaar


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Wedding People: A Novel By Alison Espach Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250899576
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 30th, 2024

A propulsive and uncommonly wise novel about one unexpected wedding guest and the surprising people who help her start anew.