Books for Middle Readers

Camp Famous Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063140684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 10th, 2022

"Camp Famous expertly blends the joys of summer camp with the struggles of not fitting in. It's a fun and uplifting read!"—Janae Marks, author of From the Desk of Zoe Washington 


Staff Pick Badge
Yonder Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062985682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: HarperCollins - May 10th, 2022

From Ali Standish, award-winning author of The Ethan I Was Before, August Isle, How to Disappear Completely, and The Mending Summer, comes a captivating historical fiction middle grade novel about a boy on the home front in World War II who must solve the mystery of the disappearance of his best friend.


The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Shawn Harris (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063084087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 10th, 2022

New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively popular The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza live cartoon into an action-packed and hysterical graphic novel series—perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Raina Telgemeier, and Jeff Kinney. A Kids' Indie Next List Pick!


Staff Pick Badge
Every Bird a Prince Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250783448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 10th, 2022

A girl's quest to save a forest kingdom is intertwined with her exploration of identity in Every Bird a Prince, a gorgeous middle-grade contemporary fantasy by Jenn Reese, the award-winning author of A Game of Fox & Squirrels, perfect for fans of Josephine Cameron and Barbara O'Connor.


Staff Pick Badge
The Golden Swift (The Silver Arrow) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316283540
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2022

Any child with a curiosity for the natural world will devour this book. Grossman has found the perfect blend of fantasy and real life issues. When not traveling around the world on a magical, timeless steam train talking with animals, Kate is worried about where she fits in at school, if she is a good friend and sister, can she sing, and does she have a crush on Jag too? Great conversation starter about conservation.

Highly Recommended by Kristine


Hawkins Horrors (Stranger Things): A Collection of Terrifying Tales Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780593483961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2022

A collection of terrifying tales from the thrilling world of Netflix’s hit series Stranger Things!


My Own Lightning Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555599
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2022

Bestselling author Lauren Wolk returns to the world of Wolf Hollow, in this sequel to her beloved, Newbery Honor–winning debut.

★ “A powerful story to electrify the soul.” –Booklist, starred review


Atlantis: The Brink of War (Atlantis Book #2) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419738555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Amulet Books - April 26th, 2022

Bestselling author Gregory Mone takes readers back to Atlantis in this action-packed sequel to Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion!

Even an accidental invasion has dire consequences . . .

After their daring escape from Atlantis, Lewis, Hanna, and Kaya, their resourceful Atlantean friend, find themselves pulled between two worlds.


Osmo Unknown and the Eightpenny Woods Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481476997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - April 26th, 2022

From New York Times bestselling author Catherynne M. Valente comes an inventive new fantasy following a boy journeying away from the only home he’s ever known and into the magical realm of the dead in order to fulfill a bargain for his people.

Osmo Unknown hungers for the world beyond his small town.


Staff Pick Badge
The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250811561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - April 19th, 2022

A middle-grade novel by James Bird about a boy sent to his Ojibwe family to straighten out his life.


Grow Up, Tahlia Wilkins! Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316168755
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 19th, 2022

Sweet, realistic tale of a soon-to-be 8th grader who has to deal with getting her period and learning how to put a tampon in before the big pool party of the summer.  Plus her best friend is moving away? Ugh! 

Highly Recommended by Kristine