Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and other Rick Riordan books, Amari and the Night Brothers is written about Amari, a girl who's brother has gone missing on her journey to find him. 


Staff Pick Badge
365 Days to Alaska Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419743801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Amulet Books - January 19th, 2021

In this charming middle grade novel, 11 year old Rigel transitions from living off the grid in Alaska to living in the Connecticut suburbs. 


Alone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534467569
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Aladdin - January 12th, 2021

Perfect for fans of Hatchet and the I Survived series, this harrowing middle grade debut novel-in-verse from a Pushcart Prize–nominated poet tells the story of a young girl who wakes up one day to find herself utterly alone in her small Colorado town.

When twelve-year-old Maddie hatches a scheme for a secret sleepover with her two best friends, she ends up waking up to a


Staff Pick Badge
City of the Plague God Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368051507
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 12th, 2021

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD, an adventure based on ancient Mesopotamian mythology written by Sarwat Chadda, author of the Ash Mistry series.


The Sea in Winter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062872043
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Heartdrum - January 5th, 2021

A wonderfully descriptive story of a young girl recovering from a torn ACL. Maisie is a ballet dancer who is forced to take a break after an injury. Christine Day does a brilliant job capturing the emotions of Maisie; her heartbreaking honesty about her fears, friendships, doubts, and hopes. This is a much needed, heartwarming story from a Native American voice about the power of family.

Recommended by Kristine


The Lion of Mars Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593121818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

A young boy goes through regular kid stuff, like friendship woes and grown-ups with secrets, but set on a Mars colony. When all the grownups contract a virus, it's up to the kids to save the day.

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Just Like That Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544084773
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Clarion Books - January 5th, 2021

Set in the same 1960s world Gary Schmidt's other books, this story takes place in Maine, it is a duel story line following Meryl, a young girl at boarding school haunted by loss, and Matt, hiding from a criminal gang with a pillowcase full of money.

Recommended by Kristine


Unplugged Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062798893
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 5th, 2021

Korman is back with a new book. This one is about the spoiled kid of a tech giant who is forced to go cold turkey at a health/adventure camp.

Recommended by Kristine


The Beast and the Bethany Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534478893
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Aladdin - December 8th, 2020

Reminds me of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and stories by Roald Dahl. Ebenezer has been feeding the Beast in the attic for 511 years. When the Beast requests a young child for dinner, Ebenezer agrees and picks the rottenest child in the orphanage. 

Of course, he grows to love her :)                               - Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Cat Kid Comic Club: From the Creator of Dog Man Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator), Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338712766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Graphix - December 1st, 2020

A pioneering new graphic novel series by Dav Pilkey, the author and illustrator of the internationally bestselling Dog Man and Captain Underpants series.