Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Badge
Cub Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781616208486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

"A fun and timely graphic novel for fans of Raina Telgemeir, Jennifer Holms, and Victoria Jameison. The illustrations are good, Sunday comic style, and bring the 70's to life. A great message for young girls - that friendships take work and understanding, that boyfriends don't always last, and that you can do anything you put your mind to! Readers will cheer along as Cindy faces life head on and rises above gender and social issues to become her own person."

Recommended by Kristine


New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature!


Staff Pick Badge
Child of the Dream (A Memoir of 1963) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338282801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Scholastic Press - September 3rd, 2019

An incredible memoir from Sharon Robinson about one of the most important years of the civil rights movement.


Staff Pick Badge
The Line Tender Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735231603
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - April 16th, 2019

Funny, poignant, and deeply moving, The Line Tender is a story of nature's enduring mystery and a girl determined to find meaning and connection within it.


Staff Pick Badge
A Girl, a Raccoon, and the Midnight Moon: (Juvenile Fiction, Mystery, Young Reader Detective Story, Light Fantasy for Kids) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452169521
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - January 7th, 2020

A warm-hearted, visually intriguing tale of reading and believing, and a world of possibility.


Staff Pick Badge
I Survived The Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 (I Survived Graphic Novel #1): A Graphix Book (I Survived Graphic Novels #1) Cover Image
By Lauren Tarshis, Haus Studio (Illustrator), Georgia Ball (Adapted by)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781338120912
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Graphix - February 4th, 2020

A thrilling graphic novel adaptation of Lauren Tarshis's bestselling I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912!


Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea) Cover Image
By Thomas Taylor, Tom Booth (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536207224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Walker Books US - September 10th, 2019

A quirky, creepy fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea finds a colorful cast of characters in hot pursuit of a sea monster thought to convey a surprising gift.


As the director of a school library and a middle school literature teacher at Inly School in Scituate, Massachusetts, I have the opportunity to read lots of books. Depending on the day of the week, I have many books that I consider my favorites. I received my masters at the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons College in 2005. I am also the author of two biographies for young readers: John F. Kennedy: His Lifeand Legacy and Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg: Baseball Pioneer. Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg was named a 2012 Sydney Taylor Honor Book and a spring 2011 selection of the Junior Library Guild. I’ve been reviewing books for School Library Journal since April 2013.
My blog: http://sommerreading.wordpress.com