Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Badge
The Blackbird Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984837356
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

A great book that sheds light on a important piece of history. This is a story of two very different girls whose lives are uprooted after the nuclear accident at Chernobyl and how they  find the resilience to survive.  The subject matter isn’t easy - if your kids are anxious about environmental issues, abusive relationships or religious prejudice,  you might want skip it. Worth reading WITH your kids though and using it to open some honest dialog. For fans of The War That Saved My Life and the HBO miniseries “Chernobyl”.

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Black Brother, Black Brother Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

I liked this book. It starts off strong with Rhodes' poetic prose telling the story of a biracial prep school boy who is wrongly accused of delinquent behavior. Fast-paced and sparse, this is a good starting point for middle grade readers looking for discussions on a serious subject matter. I wish it were longer and slower. The characters, the details on the sport of fencing, as well as the legal and social commentary on racism, are worthy of many more pages.

Recommended by Kristine


Here in the Real World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062698957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

I really enjoyed this one. The characters are complicated, worried, confused, and optimistic as only real kids can be. The setting of a demolished church in Florida comes to life through descriptions of the heat, rubble, wildlife, and papaya plants. Great for middle grade readers looking for realistic fiction with a dash of knights, gardening, and wildlife.

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Cub Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781616208486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

"A fun and timely graphic novel for fans of Raina Telgemeir, Jennifer Holms, and Victoria Jameison. The illustrations are good, Sunday comic style, and bring the 70's to life. A great message for young girls - that friendships take work and understanding, that boyfriends don't always last, and that you can do anything you put your mind to! Readers will cheer along as Cindy faces life head on and rises above gender and social issues to become her own person."

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
A Girl, a Raccoon, and the Midnight Moon: (Juvenile Fiction, Mystery, Young Reader Detective Story, Light Fantasy for Kids) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452169521
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - January 7th, 2020

A warm-hearted, visually intriguing tale of reading and believing, and a world of possibility.


Staff Pick Badge
The Line Tender Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735231603
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - April 16th, 2019

Funny, poignant, and deeply moving, The Line Tender is a story of nature's enduring mystery and a girl determined to find meaning and connection within it.


New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature!


As the director of a school library and a middle school literature teacher at Inly School in Scituate, Massachusetts, I have the opportunity to read lots of books. Depending on the day of the week, I have many books that I consider my favorites. I received my masters at the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons College in 2005. I am also the author of two biographies for young readers: John F. Kennedy: His Lifeand Legacy and Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg: Baseball Pioneer. Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg was named a 2012 Sydney Taylor Honor Book and a spring 2011 selection of the Junior Library Guild. I’ve been reviewing books for School Library Journal since April 2013.
My blog: http://sommerreading.wordpress.com