Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Badge
The Night War By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735228566
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dial Books - April 9th, 2024

From the two-time Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life and Fighting Words comes a middle grade novel set at the border between freedom and fear in World War II France, at the Chateau de Chenonceau, where a Jewish girl who has lost everything but her life must decide whether to risk even that to bring others to freedom.


Three Summers: A Memoir of Sisterhood, Summer Crushes, and Growing Up on the Eve of War By Amra Sabic-El-Rayess, Laura L. Sullivan Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374390815
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - April 9th, 2024

An epic middle-grade memoir about sisterhood and coming-of-age in the three years leading up to the Bosnian Genocide.


Staff Pick Badge
Lightfall: The Dark Times By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063080904
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: HarperAlley - April 2nd, 2024

Absolutely brilliant graphic series. Each book builds the story, delves deeper into the characters, and heightens the adventure. 

Recommended by Kristine


Olivetti By Allie Millington Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250326935
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 26th, 2024

A heartfelt novel praised by Tom Hanks in the New York Times as including "a conclusion nearly impossible to divine and yet so perfect it includes that most tactile of memories..."


Staff Pick Badge
Louder Than Hunger By John Schu Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536229097
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Candlewick - March 19th, 2024

A tough read emotionally but there are kids, parents, teachers, and counselors who need it. Raw and unflinching, Jake's story ends with strength and hope.

Recommended by Kristine


Staff Pick Badge
Bunny and Clyde By Megan McDonald, Scott Nash (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Megan McDonald, Scott Nash (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536228731
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2024

From New York Times best-selling author Megan McDonald, creator of Judy Moody, and lauded illustrator Scott Nash comes a droll comedy for early readers about an endearingly inept pair of outlaws.


Staff Pick Badge
Haru: Book 1: Spring By Joe Latham Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781524884734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - March 12th, 2024

For fans of Bone, Lightfall, and other graphic series with a good dose of the fantastical. Real struggles, friendships, and adventure.

Recommended by Kristine


Coyote Lost and Found (Coyote Sunrise) By Dan Gemeinhart Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250292773
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 5th, 2024

From #1 New York Times-bestselling author Dan Gemeinhart comes a standalone companion to the critically-acclaimed The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise about a father and daughter who venture on a moving, uplifting, and rollicking cross-country road trip.


Staff Pick Badge
Free Period By Ali Terese Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338835830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Scholastic Press - March 5th, 2024

This middle-grade Moxie centering period equity is Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret for the next generation!

"Absolute fire." -- Book Riot

Helen and Gracie are pranking their way through middle school when a stinky stunt lands them in the front office -- again.


Staff Pick Badge
The First State of Being By Erin Entrada Kelly Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063337312
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 5th, 2024

A brilliant blend of science fiction, family issues, first crushes, surviving middle school, making friends, loss, and 1990s history.

Highly Recommended by Kristine