Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Badge
The Daredevils By Rob Buyea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593376140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Delacorte Press - August 9th, 2022

Readers on the cusp of adolescence will find much to love in this middle grade novel from the author of the beloved MR. TERUPT series that follows three kids who come to realize that letting go of childhood means boldly taking risks to face the future while learning from the past.


Empty Smiles (Small Spaces Quartet #4) By Katherine Arden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593109182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 9th, 2022

New York Times bestselling author Katherine Arden thrills once again in the finale to the critically acclaimed, bone-chilling quartet that began with Small Spaces.


Fenris & Mott By Greg van Eekhout Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: HarperCollins - August 2nd, 2022

A girl and her puppy face down the end of the world—which the puppy’s partly responsible for—in this middle grade story from acclaimed author Greg van Eekhout, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and J.C. Cervantes.


Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

For fans of Twins and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service...


Grounded for All Eternity By Darcy Marks Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534483361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Aladdin - July 26th, 2022

Fantastic, fun, and wholly original. I was routing for this unlikely group of friends the whole way through. Anyone who like stories about good friends, or Salem witches, will love this.

Recommended by Kristine


The Hayley Mysteries: The Haunted Studio By Hayley LeBlanc Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781728251981
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - July 19th, 2022

A very Scooby Doo-ish mystery with a cool California film set location and lifestyle. Great summer read.

Recommended by Kristine


J.R. Silver Writes Her World By Melissa Dassori Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316331456
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Christy Ottaviano Books - July 19th, 2022

★ "Fans of E. L. Konigsburg’s From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, will particularly enjoy. . . A promising first novel. "—Booklist, starred review

What if you could write your dreams into reality with the stroke of a pen? 

Sixth grade is off to a difficult start for Josephine Rose Silver.


Strangeville School Is Totally Normal By Darcy Miller, Brett Helquist (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Darcy Miller, Brett Helquist (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593309513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Yearling - July 19th, 2022

This new highly-illustrated series is guaranteed to make you laugh so hard milk will come out of your nose! Strangeville School is the wackiest, most dangerous school you will ever attend...and you'll desperately want to come back for more!


Staff Pick Badge
The Bad Guys in Open Wide and Say Arrrgh! (The Bad Guys #15) By Aaron Blabey Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338813180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 19th, 2022

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!

"I wish I'd had these books as a kid. Hilarious!" -- Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants and Dog Man

They may look like Bad Guys, but these wannabe heroes are doing good deeds... whether you like it or not in this New York Times bestselling illustrated series.

WEIRD?!


Staff Pick Badge
Bright By Brigit Young Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250822116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - July 5th, 2022

In this poignant middle grade novel, a struggling student joins her school's celebrated quiz team in a bid to avoid failing eighth grade.