Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Badge
Cardboardia 2: This Side Up By Lucy Campagnolo, Richard Fairgray (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lucy Campagnolo, Richard Fairgray (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781645951117
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Pixel+Ink - November 22nd, 2022

A war for the very fate of the cardboard kingdom smolders and could ignite at any moment in the second book in the Cardboardia graphic novel series, perfect for fans of Furthermore and Nightlights.


PAWS: Mindy Makes Some Space By Nathan Fairbairn, Michele Assarasakorn (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593351932
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - November 15th, 2022

Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then you won’t want to miss the second book in this graphic novel series that’s the Baby-Sitters Club for pets!


Sir Callie and the Champions of Helston By Esme Symes-Smith Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593485774
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Labyrinth Road - November 8th, 2022

This was the book I didn't know I was looking for! It's Tamora Pierce for a new generation and gave me so many feels as I relived the magic those books brought me when I was young. I love Callie's spunkiness and stubbornness and staunchness for what is good. The supporting cast of characters are all amazing and I cannot wait for book 2!!!

Recommended by Kimi


Dungeons & Dragons: Dungeon Academy: Tourney of Terror By Madeleine Roux, Timothy Probert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Madeleine Roux, Timothy Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063039148
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: HarperCollins - November 1st, 2022

From New York Times bestselling author Madeleine Roux and acclaimed artist Tim Probert comes the second installment in the original Dungeons & Dragons middle grade series!


Staff Pick Badge
Creature: Paintings, Drawings, and Reflections By Shaun Tan Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781646142002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Levine Querido - November 1st, 2022

From the creator of The Arrival, a collection of essays illuminating his thoughts and advice for writers and artists, young and old.

Shaun Tan is one of the world’s most highly acclaimed narrative artists—his stories and images are loved by countless young and not-so-young readers around the world.


Spirit Week By Ira Marcks Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316278065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 25th, 2022

Secret rooms, eerie curses, forgotten caves. Could you survive a week in the Underlook Hotel?
 
Aspiring engineer Suzy Hess is invited to the famous Underlook Hotel, domain of the reclusive horror writer Jack Axworth, in the mountains above her hometown of Estes Park, Colorado.


The Secret of the Jade Bangle By Linda Trinh, Clayton Nguyen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Linda Trinh, Clayton Nguyen (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781773217161
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Annick Press - October 18th, 2022

I thought this early reader was so sweet and I can't wait to recommend it. I particularly loved the main character coming to terms with microagressions and how they make you feel. I loved the bonding with the grandma and the learning to cook too!

Recommended by Kimi


Staff Pick Badge
Hazel Hill Is Gonna Win This One By Maggie Horne Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358664703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Clarion Books - October 18th, 2022

Hazel Hill is the hero every young girl deserves. She's whip-smart, stubborn, and is not afraid to stand up for what is right.

Recommended by Kimi


The Labyrinth of Doom (Once Upon a Tim #2) By Stuart Gibbs, Stacy Curtis (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Stuart Gibbs, Stacy Curtis (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534499287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 1st, 2022

Knight-in-training Tim and his best friend, Belinda, embark on a quest to save Princess Grace in this second book in the hilarious, highly illustrated Once Upon a Tim middle grade series from New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs.

Prince Ruprecht is VERY UPSET that knights-in-training, Tim and Belinda, have thwarted his plans and ruined his chances with Princess Grace


A Rover's Story By Jasmine Warga Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063113923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 4th, 2022

A wonderful, heartwarming, sad, science-filled, adventure story. What more could you ask for? Warga does a fabulous job bringing a Mars rover to life. The juxtaposition of his journey on Mars with the NASA scientist’s young daughter’s coming-of-age is delightful.

Highly recommended by Kristine