Books for Middle Readers

The Train to Impossible Places: A Cursed Delivery Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250189509
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 2nd, 2018

A middle-grade fantasy and nonstop adventure, The Train to Impossible Places by debut author P. G. Bell is as fun as it is full of heart, and the first book of a trilogy.

A train that travels through impossible places. A boy trapped in a snow globe. And a girl who’s about to go on the adventure of a lifetime.


Staff Pick Logo
Ghost Boys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316262286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 17th, 2018

An instant New York Times bestseller
An instant IndieBound bestseller
The #1 Kids' Indie Next Pick

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.


Staff Pick Logo
The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker Cover Image
By Matilda Woods, Anuska Allepuz (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525515210
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Philomel Books - May 15th, 2018

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks.


Staff Pick Logo
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524767570
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.


Staff Pick Logo
Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel Book 1) (Pandava Series #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368012355
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - March 27th, 2018

Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school.


Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626728141
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 6th, 2018

Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire is the first book in a spellbinding fantasy adventure series by screenwriter John August.

Some trails lead to magic. Some lead to danger.


Staff Pick Logo
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316508889
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 31st, 2017

An instant New York Times bestseller!

"A Harry Potter-esque adventure." --Time Magazine

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination


As the director of a school library and a middle school literature teacher at Inly School in Scituate, Massachusetts, I have the opportunity to read lots of books. Depending on the day of the week, I have many books that I consider my favorites. I received my masters at the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons College in 2005. I am also the author of two biographies for young readers: John F. Kennedy: His Lifeand Legacy and Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg: Baseball Pioneer. Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg was named a 2012 Sydney Taylor Honor Book and a spring 2011 selection of the Junior Library Guild. I’ve been reviewing books for School Library Journal since April 2013.
My blog: http://sommerreading.wordpress.com