Buttonwood's Best of 2020

Hamnet Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780525657606
Availability: Backordered
Published: Knopf - July 21st, 2020

O'Farrell brings to life the world of Agnes; her husband, her children, and her grief. The story opens with young Hamnet searching frantically for help when his sister Judith becomes suddenly ill. His race through town sets the stage for this often poetic account of a family's life. There are whole passages I wish I could quote here. A unique voice and a unique take on the myth of Shakespeare.

-Kristine

 


Migrations: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250204028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Flatiron Books - August 4th, 2020

As Franny Stone embarks on a journey to follow the last arctic terns on their final migration, she convinces a fishing boat to bring her along to locate the few fish left in the ocean. Once on board, Franny's dark past starts to unfold. This book deals with so many elements - science, nature, family, love and loss - in such a beautiful way. A true page turner. Charlotte McConaghy's beautiful writing will have you rereading passages and savoring this story. 

-Mary Kay


Sharks in the Time of Saviors: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374272081
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: MCD - March 3rd, 2020

This is an incredible novel, with Washburn artfully weaving a heart-wrenching family saga together with detailed legends of the Hawaiian Gods and stories of Hawaiian tradition. It forces everyone who reads it to think deeply about salvation, about family, and about what it means to survive. From the moment I started reading I knew that the end was going to come too quickly; it has been a long time since I have read something so unique, something so refreshing, or something that made me reflect so deeply. I look forward with great anticipation to seeing what Kawai Strong Washburn does next.

-Abby


The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525536291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

An engrossing story that delves into identity and the emotions that “home” brings out in everyone. 

-Kathy


Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

A strange and wonderful little book. On the whole it is a simple story of transcendentalism and abduction but Clarke wraps it so completely in this fantastical world it becomes quite magical. I was immediately swept up in Piranesi’s sense of place, wandering with him through the labyrinth of halls, gazing at statues, and listening to the tides. 

-Kristine


A Burning: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525658696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Knopf - June 2nd, 2020

A strong debut novel revolving around the aftermath of a terrorist attack in India. A Burning focuses on three characfters on the outside of society who will do anything to better their standing, even if it means one of them will lose their lives. 

-Jill


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765387561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Tor Books - October 6th, 2020

There are not enough words to describe the grace of Addie LaRue. It is a story about life above all, and a story of a life that doesn’t end. Addie has lived forever, and yet every page brings something new. The words themselves are a masterpiece, and I found myself staring at the page in awe – in contemplation – more than a few times. 

-Hadley


Good Morning, Monster: A Therapist Shares Five Heroic Stories of Emotional Recovery Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250271488
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 22nd, 2020

An incredible collection of true stories of resilience and hope. 

-Katie


Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780385543767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Doubleday - April 7th, 2020

A compelling read that I will not forget. Kolher weaves a story that evokes empathy and much needed understanding about mental illness and the effects on a family. The integration of learning about the science and the mental health system is insightful. Readers who enjoyed The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Educated will devour this book. 

-Kathy


Universe of Two: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062878441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: William Morrow - August 4th, 2020

Stephen Kiernan does not disappoint with his new book. He takes a little-known bit of history and spins a romantic novel that entertains and educates. It covers the Manhattan Project and organ construction, an unusual intersection of interests. It is a good read. 

-Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
Group: How One Therapist and a Circle of Strangers Saved My Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982154615
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - October 27th, 2020

A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK AND INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Often hilarious and ultimately very touching.” —People

“Have you ever read a book that made you want to hug the author?” —Reese Witherspoon

“This unrestrained memoir is a transporting experience and one of the mo


Florence Adler Swims Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781982132460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 7th, 2020

“The perfect summer read” (USA TODAY) begins with a shocking tragedy that results in three generations of the Adler family grappling with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets across the course of one summer.

“Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character.


Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062248572
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Ecco - July 28th, 2020

An Instant New York Times Bestseller 

A New York Times Notable Book 

One of Barack Obama's Favorite Books of 2020


Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781534437678
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - October 13th, 2020

From the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Resistance Reborn comes the first book in the Between Earth and Sky trilogy, inspired by the civilizations of the Pre-Columbian Americas and woven into a tale of celestial prophecies, political intrigue, and forbidden magic.

A god will return
When the earth and sky converge
Under the black


Sin Eater: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982124106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - April 7th, 2020

“A riveting depiction of hard-won female empowerment that weaves together meticulous research, unsolved murder—and an unforgettable young heroine.” —The Washington Post

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Alice in Wonderland in this gripping and imaginative historical novel about a shunned orphan girl in 16th-century England who is ensnare


Staff Pick Badge
Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593189481
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - November 10th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“Every bit as beautiful and healing as the season itself. . . . This is truly a beautiful book.” —Elizabeth Gilbert

 


With or Without You: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616207793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Algonquin Books - August 4th, 2020

“Leavitt has crafted an irresistible portrait of midlife ennui and the magic of breaking free.”
People


With or Without You is a moving novel about twists of fate, the shifting terrain of love, and coming into your own.


Transcendent Kingdom: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525658184
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Knopf - September 1st, 2020

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK!

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER 

Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama
.


Fable: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250254368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Wednesday Books - September 1st, 2020

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

Filled with all of the action, emotion, and lyrical writing that brought readers to Sky in the Deep, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Fable, the first book in this new captivating duology.


Three Hours in Paris Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781641290418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Soho Crime - April 7th, 2020

In June of 1940, when Paris fell to the Nazis, Hitler spent a total of three hours in the City of Light—abruptly leaving, never to return. To this day, no one knows why.

The New York Times bestselling author of the Aimée Leduc investigations reimagines history in her masterful, pulse-pounding spy thriller, Three Hours in Paris.


Valentine: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913265
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - March 31st, 2020

An instant New York Times Bestseller
A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

"A thrilling debut that deserves your attention." –Ron Charles, the Washington Post


Homeland Elegies: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316496421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 15th, 2020

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR
ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF 2020
A Best Book of 2020 * Entertainment Weekly * Washington Post * O Magazine * New York Times Book Review * Publishers Weekly * NPR * The Economist * Shelf Awareness * Library Journal * St.


Dancing in the Mosque: An Afghan Mother's Letter to Her Son Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062970312
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Harper - December 1st, 2020

A People Book of the Week & a Kirkus Best Nonfiction of the Year

An exquisite and inspiring memoir about one mother’s unimaginable choice in the face of oppression and abuse in Taliban-controlled Afghanistan.


The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”