Story Time

Storytime & CraftsJoin us for Story Time at 10am each Thursday! Hear Kristine and other Buttonwood friends read the week's newest children's titles as well as old favorites.

A selection of recent titles is available for purchase below, or stop by the store and take home a new book to love!

 

 

 

 


Recently featured books:

Parfait, Not Parfait! By Scott Rothman, Avery Monsen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Scott Rothman, Avery Monsen (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250265814
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 9th, 2022

A minimally worded, highly entertaining, and uniquely offbeat picture book that takes readers on a surprising wordplay journey that sort of makes sense but will totally make you laugh.


The World's Longest Licorice Rope By Matt Myers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593180013
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House Studio - July 26th, 2022

A humorous story about the priceless value of friendship from the creator of Dino-Gro. A boy’s search for the end of a licorice rope takes him all around the world and winds up with two new friends.



A Spoonful of Frogs By Casey Lyall, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Casey Lyall, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062890290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - July 19th, 2022

Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the


Dog's First Baby: A Board Book By Natalie Nelson Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781683692799
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Quirk Books - October 5th, 2021

I am a dog. 
Are you a dog?


Welcoming a new baby to the family isn’t always easy. When his humans bring home someone new, Dog is determined to sniff out the truth. Is this arrival another dog, or something else? As Dog investigates, he might just find a new friend in this loud, silly creature.
 


Little Bat Up All Day By Brian Lies Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780358269854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Clarion Books - July 12th, 2022

Little Bat has never stayed up all day before! How does the world look when he's normally asleep? This sweet, sunny picture book from New York Times bestselling and Caldecott Honor–winning Brian Lies is a charming story of new experiences and new friends.


Staff Pick Badge
Sail By Dorien Brouwers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316495486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 9th, 2021

This dazzlingly illustrated debut about sailing through the journey of life is perfect for graduation or uplifting reading year-round.  Out at sea anything can happen: whether trials or triumphs, there are infinite possibilities to explore once we leave the shore.


Don't Worry, Murray By David Ezra Stein, David Ezra Stein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062845245
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 7th, 2022

The perfect gift for dog lovers!

Bark, George meets Wemberly Worried in this new classic picture book from David Ezra Stein, Caldecott Honor–winning creator of Interrupting Chicken and Leaves. The ideal read for back-to-school anxiety and soothing nerves all year long.


Little Houses By Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062965721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 24th, 2022

From award-winning and bestselling author Kevin Henkes and the acclaimed painter Laura Dronzek, Little Houses is an unforgettable masterpiece about nature, family, wonder, and the ocean. The lyrical writing and stunning paintings make this a great choice for family sharing and for story times all year round.


Lily Leads the Way By Margi Preus, Matt Myers (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Margi Preus, Matt Myers (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536214031
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - May 17th, 2022

A little sailboat has a big burst of determination when a fleet of tall ships needs assistance.


A Mouthful of Minnows By John Hare, John Hare (Illustrator) Cover Image
By John Hare, John Hare (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063093225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 10th, 2022

A fishing story like no other! 


I Won’t Give Up My Rubber Band By Shinsuke Yoshitake Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781797214924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - May 3rd, 2022

An everyday object (the endlessly versatile rubber band) becomes an invitation to imagine new possibilities in the latest laugh-out-loud picture book from acclaimed author-illustrator Shinsuke Yoshitake!