The Dangers of an Ordinary Night: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Dangers of an Ordinary Night: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Megan Abbott, Lynne Reeves' The Dangers of an Ordinary Night is an exploration of the explosive family secrets that are often hidden in plain sight.

On a chilly fall evening at the prestigious Performing Arts High School of Boston, best friends Tali Carrington and June Danforth go missing after auditioning for a play. They're last seen in grainy, out-of-focus surveillance footage that shows them walking away from the school. Two days later in a town south of Boston, Tali is found disoriented and traumatized by the ocean's edge, while June is pronounced dead at the scene.

Tali's mother, Nell, is so bent on protecting her daughter from further emotional harm that she ignores rumors of her husband’s involvement and enlists the help of Cynthia Rawlins, a reunification therapist with personal insight into the riptide that hides below the surface of every unsuspecting family. Meanwhile, Detective Fitz Jameson uncovers a criminal undertow involving the high school’s overachieving students, and finally sees an opportunity for personal redemption from a secret that’s haunted him for years.

As Nell, Cynthia, and Fitz confront their own contributions to the scandals that beleaguer them, their lives turn out to be more deeply intertwined than they'd ever imagined. In the end, they must decide what lengths they're willing to go to protect the people they love while also saving themselves.

About the Author


Lynne Reeves is an internationally recognized family counselor and novelist. Her short fiction, essays, and articles have appeared in Parents, Psychology Today, Solstice Literary Magazine, Chautauqua Journal, Craft Literary, Fiction Writers Review, Brain, Child and more. Lynne regularly appears as a media guest expert to discuss contemporary family life and preventive mental health. This is her first novel of domestic suspense.

Praise For…


Praise for The Dangers of An Ordinary Night:
“Shatteringly original, intensely suspenseful, and written with a tender eloquence that will break your heart. The talented Lynne Reeves—a master of subtext—weaves her brilliant insight into a riveting story of best intentions, unintended consequences, and devastated families.”
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today Bestselling author of Her Perfect Life 

“Both tender and tense, this novel trembles with the secrets lying under its many perfect facades. Lynne Reeves writes a thriller like no other: informed, nuanced, and forever keeping you at the edge of your seat. Grab this one!”
—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder 

The Dangers of an Ordinary Night is a riveting page turner that explores the many masks we wear. It's a mystery, a marriage story—a great read on many levels. You won't put it down.”
—Erica Ferencik, author of The River at Night 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643858654
ISBN-10: 1643858653
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: November 9th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English