The Silver Arrow (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
3 on hand, as of Sep 25 1:01am
(JUV READ 8 - 12)

Staff Reviews


A wonderful, magical book that will please any middle grade reader who loves adventure and animals. Kate is gifted a steam train for her 11th birthday by an eccentric uncle - so she and her brother, Tom, set off on a trip that will take them around the world and introduce them to a myriad of animals. Grossman so cleverly wraps up all these animal facts in the honest-to-goodness thrill of their adventures that the pages fly by. This is a joy to read and important to read. If one child takes the book's message to heart, the world will be on it's way to becoming a better place.

Recommended by Kristine

— From Books for Middle Readers

Description


"I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best."-- Ann Patchett

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl.

Dear Uncle Herbert,
You've never met me, but I'm your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present?

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don't have much to look forward to. Why can't Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane -- that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she's never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

Kate and Tom's parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas -- and so does the Silver Arrow -- and soon they're off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.

About the Author


Lev Grossman is the author of five novels including the #1 New York Times bestselling Magicians trilogy, which has been published in thirty countries. A TV adaptation of the trilogy is now in its fifth season as the top-rated show on Syfy. Grossman is also an award-winning journalist who spent fifteen years as the book critic and lead technology writer at Time magazine, where he published more than twenty cover stories. In addition he has written for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Wired, the Believer, the Village Voice, NPR, Salon, Slate, and Buzzfeed, among many others. He lives in New York City with his wife and three children.

Praise For…


Praise for The Silver Arrow:

"I loved it. Completely unpredictable and completely charming. A perfect book to cuddle up with and savor--and even better to read aloud with someone you love."
Adam Gidwitz, bestselling and Newbery honor-winning author of A Tale Dark and Grimm and The Inquisitor's Tale

*"Both cozy and inspiring, this eco-fable conveys both grim truths and a defiant call to action."—Kirkus, starred review

*"Grossman's gorgeous middle-grade debut is vivid and amusing... it's a world all its own."—Booklist, starred review

"...whimsical details and well-wrought moments of adventure are nevertheless certain to draw young readers."—Publishers Weekly

"...one that's sure to become a classic all its own."—Barnes & Noble Reads

"[A] scrumptious fantasy confection."—Horn Book

"Fans of classic talking-animal tales such as the Chronicles of Narnia will want to pick up a copy."—BCCB

"I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best."—Ann Patchett
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316539531
ISBN-10: 0316539538
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Pages: 272