Staff Picks

Staff Pick Logo
Larose Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062277022
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - May 10th, 2016

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Fiction

Finalist for the 2017 PEN Faulkner Award


Staff Pick Logo
The Bridge Ladies: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062354464
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Wave - May 3rd, 2016

A fifty-year-old Bridge game provides an unexpected way to cross the generational divide between a daughter and her mother. Betsy Lerner takes us on a powerfully personal literary journey, where we learn a little about Bridge and a lot about life.


Staff Pick Logo
Lilac Girls Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101883075
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - April 5th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.


Staff Pick Logo
The Nest Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062414212
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco Press - March 22nd, 2016

Instant New York Times Bestseller; named a Best Book of 2016 by People, the Washington Post, the San Francisco Chronicle, Refinery29, NPR and LibraryReads.

-Hilarious and big-hearted, The Nest is a stellar debut.- -- People


Staff Pick Logo
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780553447439
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - March 1st, 2016

WINNER OF THE 2017 PULITZER PRIZE FOR GENERAL NONFICTION


Staff Pick Logo
The One-In-A-Million Boy Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780544617070
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 5th, 2016

The incandescent story of a 104-year-old woman and the sweet, strange young boy assigned to help her around the house -- a friendship that touches each member of the boy's unmoored family


Staff Pick Logo
When Breath Becomes Air Cover Image
By Paul Kalanithi, Abraham Verghese (Foreword by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780812988406
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Random House - January 12th, 2016

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?


Staff Pick Logo
The Expatriates Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525429470
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - January 12th, 2016

This is the story of three American women whose lives become intertwined in the small expat community in Hong Kong.

First, there is Mercy, a recent college grad who is struggling to find her way. She has the uncanny ability to make bad choices. Next, there is HIlary who is trying to have a baby in the hope of saving her marriage, and finally Margaret, a mother of three who experiences a shocking and tragic loss.

Beautifully written, this book explores the themes of motherhood, loss, and forgiveness.

recommended by Laurie W.


Staff Pick Logo
The Widow Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101990261
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - February 16th, 2016

If you loved Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, read this one - it's even better. Suspenseful, with believable characters and a great plot. You'll be guessing until the last page!

recommended by Sarah


Staff Pick Logo
My Name Is Lucy Barton Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781400067695
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - January 12th, 2016

Love this author! Beautiful writing, thoughtful and moving.

recommended by Lilla


Staff Pick Logo
The Arrangement Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525429661
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - February 9th, 2016

A beautifully written story about the life of famous food essayist M.F.K. Fisher.

It is 1934 Los Angeles and Mary Frances is unsatisfied with her marriage. She is drawn to Jim, her husband's friend, who she can share her budding writing aspirations with. Mary Frances and Jim begin an affair that sweeps the three of them up into an unusual arrangement. This book will have you researching M.F.K. Fisher's writings to learn more about this fascinating woman!

recommended by Mary Kay