Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Logo
Wolf Hollow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101994825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2016

A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.


Staff Pick Logo
Hour of the Bees Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763679224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - March 8th, 2016

What does it mean to be fully alive? Magic blends with reality in a stunning coming-of-age novel about a girl, a grandfather, wanderlust, and reclaiming your roots.

Things are only impossible if you stop to think about them. . . .


Staff Pick Logo
Pax Cover Image
By Sara Pennypacker, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062377012
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 2nd, 2016

National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.


Staff Pick Logo
Paper Wishes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374302160
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - January 5th, 2016

Ten-year-old Manami did not realize how peaceful her family's life on Bainbridge Island was until the day it all changed. It's 1942, after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Manami and her family are Japanese American, which means that the government says they must leave their home by the sea and join other Japanese Americans at a prison camp in the desert.


Staff Pick Logo
Bounders Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481445931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - January 5th, 2016

In the tradition of Michael Vey and The Unwanteds, twelve-year-old Jasper and his friends are forced to go up against an alien society in this first book in a brand-new adventure series
Bounders have always known they were different, but they never suspected they were the key to saving Earth.


Mr. Lewis Recommends Shelley Sommer Recommends
As an elementary school student, I remember disappearing for hours in my grandmother’s attic reading my father’s old Peanuts comic books. That love of reading had all but vanished by middle school where I mis-learned that books were for working, not enjoying. I’ve spent my career as an adult connecting the right kid with the right book, focusing on helping boys view books and authors in the same way they think of sports and athletes. I’ve presented this work to the International Reading Association at their annual convention. Along with consulting with Scholastic Book Clubs as a Teacher Advisor, I worked as a committee member on the Spotlit Collection. Currently, I’m up to my ears in the year’s best non fiction as a panelist for the CYBILS awards. You can find more information and resources at nohigh5.com. As the director of a school library and a middle school literature teacher at Inly School in Scituate, Massachusetts, I have the opportunity to read lots of books. Depending on the day of the week, I have many books that I consider my favorites. I received my masters at the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons College in 2005. I am also the author of two biographies for young readers: John F. Kennedy: His Lifeand Legacy and Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg: Baseball Pioneer. Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg was named a 2012 Sydney Taylor Honor Book and a spring 2011 selection of the Junior Library Guild. I’ve been reviewing books for School Library Journal since April 2013.
My blog: http://sommerreading.wordpress.com