Books for Middle Readers

Staff Pick Logo
All's Faire in Middle School Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525429999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dial Books - September 5th, 2017

Calling all Raina Telgemeier fans The Newbery Honor-winning author of Roller Girl is back with a heartwarming graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing family, and the Renaissance Faire.


Staff Pick Logo
This Would Make a Good Story Someday Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Delacorte Press - May 16th, 2017

From the author of The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher comes an epic cross-country train trip for fans of Dan Santat's Are We There Yet? and Geoff Rodkey's The Tapper Twins. Pack your suitcase and climb on board with the Johnston-Fischer family.


Staff Pick Logo
Lemons Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524700126
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that's perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo's Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate's Crenshaw


Staff Pick Logo
Beyond the Bright Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101994856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

From the bestselling author of Newbery Honor-winner Wolf Hollow, the moving story of an orphan, determined to know her own history, who discovers the true meaning of family.


Staff Pick Logo
See You in the Cosmos Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399186370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: Dial Books - February 28th, 2017

"I haven't read anything that has moved me this much since Wonder." --Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places


Staff Pick Logo
The Ethan I Was Before Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062433381
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call the store at (781) 383-2665 to confirm availability.
Published: HarperCollins - January 24th, 2017

Life can be transformed in one moment, but does that one moment define you for life?

Lost in the Sun meets The Thing About Jellyfish in Ali Standish's breathtaking debut. A poignant middle grade novel of friendship and forgiveness, The Ethan I Was Before is a classic in the making.


Mr. Lewis Recommends Shelley Sommer Recommends
As an elementary school student, I remember disappearing for hours in my grandmother’s attic reading my father’s old Peanuts comic books. That love of reading had all but vanished by middle school where I mis-learned that books were for working, not enjoying. I’ve spent my career as an adult connecting the right kid with the right book, focusing on helping boys view books and authors in the same way they think of sports and athletes. I’ve presented this work to the International Reading Association at their annual convention. Along with consulting with Scholastic Book Clubs as a Teacher Advisor, I worked as a committee member on the Spotlit Collection. Currently, I’m up to my ears in the year’s best non fiction as a panelist for the CYBILS awards. You can find more information and resources at nohigh5.com. As the director of a school library and a middle school literature teacher at Inly School in Scituate, Massachusetts, I have the opportunity to read lots of books. Depending on the day of the week, I have many books that I consider my favorites. I received my masters at the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons College in 2005. I am also the author of two biographies for young readers: John F. Kennedy: His Lifeand Legacy and Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg: Baseball Pioneer. Hammerin’ Hank Greenberg was named a 2012 Sydney Taylor Honor Book and a spring 2011 selection of the Junior Library Guild. I’ve been reviewing books for School Library Journal since April 2013.
My blog: http://sommerreading.wordpress.com